top of page

Our New World

By Marni Stephenson

 

Who is really in charge? King Charles, Rishi Sunak, Joe Biden or Kamala Harris. What do all these people have in common? These people are all adults and aren't doing much to benefit the planet that we will have to deal with soon enough; so what would happen if a kid like me ruled the world? Lots of things would have to change to benefit the economy, wellbeing of people and nature as well as ecosystems that are all around the world. But the first thing I would do to help you and your world is to ban homework!



When you look out of your window do you want to see piles of rubbish lying around the streets, polluting all the wildlife, because I know I don't! For the first order of business rubbish bins for general waste, recyclables, and glass bottles within three metres from each other. When you start to get ready for school, do you feel like you have so many clothes that they might crush you if they were to topple over? That won't be an issue once supermarket car parks have clothes and shoe donation bins to help people out who can't afford them!


Now, I know we all love a good cheeseburger, but have you ever considered trying a vegan burger? My cousins are vegan and they have told me that it tastes just like real meat, I completely agree! Who would want a poor chicken to have to suffer just for you to get some nuggets from McDonald's? Going vegan has changed people's lives yet only 1-2% of the entire population of 7.88 billion people! How about we try to get that up to 10% or maybe even 15% to help save some of the animals out there.


I believe we are all aware that June is Pride month, now you might be wondering what Pride month is? Pride Month honours the identity, rights, and inclusion of LGBTQ people in our nation, celebrating their place in history and the future. As the month's name implies, it's a time of pride, affirmation, and celebration for who you are. The LGBTQ+ community ( lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) celebrates this month full of confidence yet sometimes get hate from people, if I was in charge I would get everyone in schools educated on how Love is Love so be who you are!


So saying as it's our world, shouldn't we be able to make some decisions about the future? If this was an election, I would hope you would vote for me as I promise if I was in charge of the world it would be a safe space full of gorgeous wildlife and thriving animals. Everyone would be taught to love themselves and never give up on their dreams! So now let me ask you this question, if you were in charge of the world, what would you do?




READ MORE LIKE THIS...


READ MORE BY...

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page