top of page

The Rainbow Alliance


By Jasmin Khalil, Writer

 

I’m writing about the Rainbow Alliance, CLV’s LGBTQ+ club hosted by the brilliant teacher herself, Mrs MacKellar. She started the Rainbow Alliance in honour of any student who needs to talk to someone or needs to know they aren’t the only one.


I’m writing about the Rainbow Alliance, CLV’s LGBTQ+ club hosted by the brilliant teacher herself, Mrs MacKellar. She started the Rainbow Alliance in honour of any student who needs to talk to someone or needs to know they aren’t the only one.


Since beginning this club, many students have joined and have been honoured by the role they play in the school’s community. Being a member myself, I know how important, exciting and fun it is relating to others. Feeling like you’re accepted, feeling like you’re welcome, as many students who are in the LGBTQ+ community at school do not feel normal or human due to the criticism received. Well, this is 100% not true. Every student is valued at the CLV, which is why Mrs MacKellar created the Rainbow Alliance.


Supporters are also accepted and it’s a great place to learn new facts about the LGBTQ+; I’ve learned a lot. We always talk about what’s been happening related to the community. It’s so fun to see new faces, for older members like myself, and for Mrs MacKellar. Knowing more people feel comfortable coming to know they’re not alone and know they can be themselves really would brighten our day.


You never feel left out in the club, it makes you feel alive and loved. No one is ever considered an “outsider” or weird. As I like to say, weird is the new normal! We also talk about films, television series and books, such as: “Love, Simon” a movie by Greg Berlanti, “Split” by Muhammad Khan, and “Teen Wolf” a television series by Jeff Davis. These are just three loved films and books that I know I love so much. But even so, there is hatred towards us because we’re perceived as “freaks” or “idiots”. But we’re not, we’re nothing out of the ordinary. We’re speaking out finally after decades of suppression. I know I love speaking out, because I’m being me.


Rainbow Alliance really is the best. Email Mrs MacKellar emackellar@clvweb.co.uk to be added to the classroom, please, don’t be shy! We want to be recognised by all of the CLV!


Remember, you’re never alone!




 

READ MORE LIKE THIS...


READ MORE BY...

#JasminKhalil

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page