top of page

Rebecca Scott tells us about her Lord Lieutenant's cadet award!

By Luke Mills

 

We discussed with Rebecca Scott her Lord Lieutenant's award. Read the interview here.


CLV Phoenix: Firstly, would you please tell us a little about what your award is?

Rebecca: The award I received is known as the Lord Lieutenant's (pronounced left-tenant) cadet award. This is an award that is put forward for cadets that are considered to be the best in their detachment/company/county. This is usually two within Northumbria as the Northumbria ACF consists of Northumberland and Tyne and Wear so there are two Lord Lieutenants. You are first asked by your Company commander if you wish to be put forward for the interview. At this interview you will be asked questions about your personal hobbies, your achievements and your personal feelings about the NACF as a whole. This is then submitted to the Lord Lieutenant herself, Her Grace, The Duchess of Northumberland. It is her choice on who she wishes to take on, when she has decided we are informed by email and are invited to a large event where we are given these presentations and pictures are taken. The service is approximately a year.


With this title comes duties. Our duties consist of looking after the Duchess such as holding her hat, cane/sword as well as opening car doors for her and aiding in the presentations of medals. This also entails wearing a tight and itchy uniform, which as of now females still have to wear knee length skirts!


CLV Phoenix: And how did you feel about winning this award?

Rebecca: On achieving this award I felt that I had now reached some of the highest points in my cadet career which will allow me to become a better role model for my local cadets and the cadets across the wider area. I didn't have much of a role model when I went through the cadets, it was based on forced respect through fear from some of the adults and NCOs (non-commissioned officers). By being able to climb the ladder with a lot of things against me I can become that guide for the younger cadets. My current detachment sees a lot of young people joining who would not usually have access to the opportunities that the cadets offer, I like to help promote these chances so that they may have these experiences.


CLV Phoenix: What are your plans for the future?

Rebecca: For the future, I will continue to be a part of the cadets as after my Lord Lieutenant's Cadet appointment runs out I will apply to join an adult position in which I can get paid and I can proceed to go up the ranks and have a greater impact on cadet training.


CLV Phoenix: What advice would you give to people who have just started / are part of the cadets as to how they can make the most of their time there?

Rebecca: What I would say to new cadets/current cadets is don't let other people hold you back, if you're aware of what you are capable of you should strive to achieve that no matter what your background is. Everyone has an equal opportunity and I will help you achieve that. To make the most of your time try and get in every cadet night so you are given the best chance for progress but don't overwork yourself, it is a hobby and should be treated as such.


Well done and keep up the good work!


 

READ MORE LIKE THIS...


READ MORE BY...


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page