top of page

Alex McMullen - Member of Youth Parliament Campaign

Updated: Jan 31, 2023

Alex McMullen



As some of you may know, I am standing to become a Member of the Youth Parliament in Northumberland. This is an incredible opportunity for me to listen to your needs and concerns in the local area and take it further up to MPs and the Government.


The UK’s Youth Parliaments first election was held in 2001. Since then MYPs have successfully worked with MPs, service providers and decision makers in their area. Across the UK there are 369 constituencies for the Youth Parliament - each with its own MYP. There are a variety of problems currently facing young people, such as the cost of living crisis, access to mental health services and crime on our streets, as well as the pressing threat to our environment. I am passionate about solving these issues and making Northumberland as safe a place as possible.


Protecting our environment is incredibly important, not only for the wildlife but also for our own mental health. Being within nature has scientifically been proven to help with mental health issues, therefore at this time, with the growth in mental health issues in younger people, I believe it is crucial that we help protect the environment around us. It is also important to encourage more people to get outdoors, or start walking and cycling to places instead of using cars, as well as using public transport more often. All of these lifestyle changes will not only help protect our environment, but also our world itself.


Having safer streets for all people, especially young people, is a key priority to me. I understand the fear that comes from walking down a dark, poorly-lit street at night. I understand the fear that young people have when there are large groups of people loitering around shops. But most importantly, I understand that people just want to live their lives peacefully and without threat of attack, burglary or intimidation. That is why reducing crime rates amongst young people and protecting young people across Northumberland will be a key priority of mine - if you elect me as an MYP.


Another key priority in my manifesto is to make a start in the reformation of our education system. I understand this is a large feat which only one MYP couldn't possibly change, however it is important that MPs and the government listen to the advice and personal stories of young people and how they think their education could be reformed. I would also like to see a lot more funding in alternatives to university after Sixth Form. This could be the form of apprenticeships, full time jobs or pursuing entrepreneurship.


More information about me:

I have lived in Cramlington all of my life and I am currently attending The Cramlington Learning Village Sixth Form. People I know would often describe me as friendly, approachable, hard working and determined to help. I am currently a member of my Sixth Form Student Leadership team and so, I believe I understand how to help people and listen to their concerns effectively.


Thank you for taking the time to read this. Please vote for me, Alex McMullen, on the 15th February on the ballot paper provided by your school.


Find me on Instagram - @alexmcmullen4myp


READ MORE LIKE THIS...


READ MORE BY...


192 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page