top of page

26 Things You Probably Didn’t Do While Quarantined

By Grace Bowman

 

Overzealous and optimistic, I released a long list of ideas and activities that people could partake in over the course of quarantine. I had expected this quarantine to last a few weeks minimum and often sneered at countries like Ireland and Scotland who had taken a surprisingly more realistic approach and estimated sixteen. Twenty-three crazy weeks later and a reflection on my past naivety have led me to write this article ‘26 things I didn’t do in lockdown’ and rate my suggestions.


1. Check out a live stream


This was a bit of a long shot in the first place. No one really has the patience to just sit and stare at a live stream for two hours. TikTok hasn't helped contribute to the attention span of the young generation either. No hate to the whales and puppies but after a while, it can get quite monotonous.


Rating: 3/10


2. Play an instrument


Speaking as someone who has never owned an instrument, I cannot really provide my own experience of playing a musical instrument during quarantine. If you did refine your musical skills during quarantine, congratulations! You're more motivated than the rest of us.


Rating: 4/10


3. Sleep


The first good suggestion from me. I feel like this was a no brainer considering how tiring lockdown was. Originally, this suggestion was tailored to year 11 and 13 who I hoped could use the time to destress and relax, but after seeing what Gavin Williamson did to you, I just hope you're okay.


Rating: 9/10


4. Meditation


Another random suggestion considering a good proportion of the population doesn’t meditate. If you did meditate, however, did you experience any of the health benefits I spoke about previously? I’m genuinely curious.


Rating: 2/10


5. Multiplayer online games


I feel like a lot of people did this during quarantine. Therefore,


Rating: 8/10


6. Play Wii Sports


I'm not sure that many people even own their Wii anymore. If you do, fair enough. Did you play with family members? The urge to chuck a Wii remote at the TV is too strong for me.


Rating: 3/10


7. Work out at home


Not a bad suggestion if you actually did it. I will say, however, that lockdown was really draining so if you did work out at home, all I can do is salute you.


Rating: 6/10


8. Train your pet


Looking back It’s surprising that this made the list. Fair enough, you may have had time to train your pet but why would you want to?


Rating: 4/10


9. Do some spring cleaning or organizing


I feel that this was a pretty good suggestion. Despite the fact that this was more a start of a quarantine suggestion back when everyone was more motivated, I’m fairly sure a lot of people did this - the massive queues at B&Q were an surefire indicator of this.


Rating: 7/10


10. Watch some Disney movies


I feel like everyone watched at least one Disney movie during lockdown. Evidence would also prove this as Disney Plus was downloaded a staggering 16 million times in March.


Rating: 8/10


11. Do a 1000 piece puzzle


I knew a few people that completed one of these in quarantine, their experience was enough to turn me away forever.


Rating: -2/10


12. Learn chess


To be frank I couldn’t be bothered to learn this skill. I shall forever remain off the chess leaderboard in the Sixth Form ILC. Not that it matters, the boards were taken away for sanitary purposes.


Rating: 1/10


13. Learn how to edit videos


If you started a Youtube channel during quarantine, I am in awe. If you learned to edit videos on the other hand, and simply left it at that, you have my respect.


5/10


14. Keep a diary


There's not much you can really say about keeping a diary. If you did, however, there's a small possibility that you might end up as a history source people see when they study the Coronavirus of 2020, hopefully just 2020.


Rating: 6/10 (for historical purposes)


15. Watch a virtual concert


I feel like every singer took this opportunity to put out a Zoom call of them and their band. Not only singers, but the whole cast of TV shows as well, minus those characters whose real life actors went on to do well.


Rating: 7/10


16. Try Origami (cranes)


A beautiful tradition, however, not one that could be completed quickly, thus it falls into the ‘who has the time?’ category.


Rating: 1/10


17. Bake/Cook


This suggestion screams start of quarantine. This whole list does. Baking/cooking, however, is just not something that people post on TikTok anymore, thus I will assume that it went down in popularity. At least flour is back in shops now.


Rating: 6/10


18. Watch all the films that have won Oscars for best picture


Not a bad idea but interesting execution as none of these films are on Netflix/Amazon Prime/Disney Plus etc.


Rating: 5/10


19. Yoga


Another pointless suggestion, exactly like meditation, therefore it gets the same treatment.


Rating: 2/10


20. Try a typing course


Pretty vague one. What typing course? What does it entail? Where can I find it? Is it free? Too many unanswered questions.


Rating: 1/10


21. Try to learn to do the splits


Did anyone actually learn to do the splits in quarantine? This suggestion is on par with yoga and meditation.


Rating: 2/10


22. Learn a foreign language


I feel like the only people who would have been actively learning a foreign language in quarantine are those studying French or Spanish at GCSE or A Level.


Rating: 4/10


23. Calligraphy


Again, another suggestion that is not a bad idea but is pretty pointless in theory. Much like this list.


Rating: 5/10


24. Update your CV


It could be wise to update your CV. However, less companies are hiring during this coronavirus pandemic so it might be a while till you find your first job.


Rating: 6/10


25. Nothing


Bravo. Great suggestion.


Rating: 10/10


26. Ridicule this list


Quite a good suggestion as that's exactly what I’m doing right now.


Rating: 20/10 for the irony.


On that note, we must all remember that we each handle crises differently and it is important to just to do what we feel is most comfortable for us individually. There are trying times ahead and I hope that everyone finds what makes them happy and continues to do just that.

 

READ MORE LIKE THIS...


READ MORE BY...

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page